Frequently Asked Questions

This Frequently Asked Questions is intended to answer the most recurring questions asked about the syndrome.

These answers do not seek to have scientific or medical rigor, even if they can be based on data of this type. And in particular, the microdeletion guide 17q21.31 from the English association Unique (translation made by the association Valentin APAC).

Each person is unique and therefore certain answers must be adapted to the child or the adult carrier of the disease.

This Frequently Asked Questions is constantly evolving so do not hesitate to contact us (CONTACT Section).

What is the life expectancy of a person with this syndrome?

 

Koolen De Vries syndrome is not degenerative. There is not enough hindsight today to deduce a life expectancy. But there is no reason to think that life expectancy is reduced. There are people born in the 70s diagnosed around the world. As a reminder, the diagnosis has only been possible since 2006, and older people are certainly undiagnosed.

Can we cure this syndrome?

There is no treatment today to cure this syndrome. However, some associated symptoms can be treated.

 

Physically, what will my child look like?

 

Your child will not be like you or your brothers and sisters except in expressions, attitudes, postures. Its facies will show some minor dysmorphic elements such as a bulging forehead, hypertelorism (eyes apart), the tip of the broad nose, the thin upper lip, the ears implanted a little low. It will certainly be of fine structure, of slim silhouette and therefore of light weight. It may not be very large compared to the sizes seen in children today. He is likely to have blue eyes and blonde hair.

On the other hand, he will look a lot like the other Koolen de Vries children, some give the impression of being twins or even cloned.

Kool kids at 3

How many people affected in France? In the world ?

There are no exact data on the number of people affected in France or worldwide.

Estimates are of 1 in 16,000 births.

 

When was this syndrome discovered?

Symptoms have been listed for several years by geneticists, but scientific developments have only allowed a diagnosis to be made since 2006. For more details, see the Syndrome page, History of the syndrome section.

What future for my child?

This is one of the first questions asked, but it remains rather vague. You will find concrete answers in the different items depending on the subjects: motor, language, autonomy ... However, the vast majority of children can walk, express themselves, acquire autonomy in eating and in certain daily tasks or activities like the dressing. On the other hand, it is difficult to envisage, in the long term, total autonomy with clean accommodation and employment in the ordinary environment.

 

What difficulties will my child encounter?

First, our children are quite cheerful and are generally in good health. Second, even if they are physically similar, they do not necessarily have the same symptoms. It is therefore difficult to describe the difficulties that your child will encounter. The thing is, it will be necessary to be on alert about probable epileptic seizures and to consult several specialists (ophalmologist, ENT, orthoptist, cardiologist ...), to check certain organs (liver, kidneys). Then, care adapted to your child will be put in place (physiotherapy, speech therapy, psychomotricity, occupational therapy ...), treatments may be considered (epilepsy) and for some, necessary surgical operations (heart, back, tongue ...).

At the social level, he should flourish like any child but at his own pace and sometimes in an adapted school system (IME, ULIS ...).

Will my child have an intellectual disability?

Yes, people with the syndrome have intellectual disabilities, again with variations. They do not have the same faculties as children said to be valid in learning. But they are intelligent, sensitive and, for many, have a very developed memory.

 

Will my child be able to read, write, count?

Many children are able to read and understand what they are reading. Many can also write using digital tools, holding a pencil can be difficult given the little manual dexterity. Mathematical concepts are however very succinct for the vast majority. Learning time reading and / or counting money is also complicated for many.

 

First day in small

kindergarten section

What adult life for my child? Will it be autonomous? Will he be able to work?

It will take longer than for a valid child but your child will acquire autonomy. In the vast majority of cases, he will walk, get dressed and eat alone, can help you empty the dishwasher or tidy up his room. As an adult, he will probably not be able to be independent in his travels, have his own accommodation or work in an ordinary environment. Even if some people are capable of it, it is on the fringes. The majority of people affected by Koolen De Vries syndrome have no idea of danger, of time, which does not allow them to live independently.

Again, we have little perspective but the vast majority of adults recognized Koolen De Vries and known to us in France are young adults. The majority still live with their parents and are half boarders in a specialized establishment (IMPRO, Foyer de vie or ESAT). Some are preparing to live in one of these establishments and are doing integration internships there.

 

How to tell your siblings about it?

Quite simply. By explaining the difficulties that the child with the syndrome encounters with vocabulary adapted to the ages of the siblings. By indicating that yes, dad and mom must take a little more time to take care of him but that they are always there for all. By letting things happen, by not overprotecting one or the other.

The character of the Koolen De Vries children will do the rest. They are for the most part very kind and affectionate, cooperative, in a cheerful mood; they love to laugh at other people's nonsense and make jokes themselves.

 

Can my child be a parent?

To date, we only know of a young woman suffering from the syndrome and who in turn became a mother in England.

Remember, as with any syndrome: the risk of having a child himself suffering from the syndrome is 50% in the case of a single parent affected.

 

What are the risks of having another child also affected by the syndrome?

To our knowledge, there are two families with two out of two children suffering from the syndrome, both abroad. In these two cases, at least one of the parents is himself the carrier of the deletion. To our knowledge, if the parents are not carriers of the anomaly (accidental mutation called de novo on their affected child), then the risk is very low to have another child Koolen De Vries.

 

What financial aid can you get?

  • The 100% Social Security allows you to have all the care related to the syndrome ( and normally covered partially by Social Security) , reimbursed in full.

  • A request for recognition of the handicap, education allowances, priority card and parking can be made at the Departmental House for Persons with Disabilities (MDPH).

  • Some employers also offer financial assistance, flexible working hours, availability days for children with disabilities ...

  • Certain mutuals may also grant you aid.

 

Our Kool Kids, evolution

 
  • Birth

  • 6 months

  • 1 year

  • 2 years

  • Four years

  • 6 years

  • 10 years

  • 14 years old

  • 18 years old

© 2018 - Association Koolen De Vries France - Tous droits réservés              contact@koolendevriesfrance.org             Politique de confidentialité

  • 1 an

  • Facebook Social Icône
Logo association Koolen De Vries France

Foire Aux Questions

Cette Foire Aux Questions est destinée à répondre aux questions les plus récurrentes posées sur le syndrome.

Ces réponses ne cherchent pas à avoir une rigueur scientifique ou médicale, même si elles peuvent reposer sur des données de ce type. Et en particulier, le guide microdélétion 17q21.31 de l'association anglais Unique (traduction faite par l'association Valentin APAC).

Chaque personne est unique et donc certaines réponses doivent être adaptées à l'enfant ou à l'adulte porteur de la maladie.

Cette Foire Aux Questions est en constante évolution alors n'hésitez pas à nous contacter (Rubrique CONTACT).

Quelle est l'espérance de vie d'une personne atteinte de ce syndrome ?

 

Le syndrome Koolen De Vries n'est pas dégénératif. Il n'y a pas assez de recul aujourd'hui pour en déduire une espérance de vie. Mais il n'y a pas de raison de penser que l'espérance de vie soit réduite. Il existe des personnes nées dans les années 70  diagnostiquées de par le monde. Pour rappel, le diagnostic n'est possible que depuis 2006, et des personnes plus âgées sont certainement non diagnostiquées.

Peut-on guérir ce syndrome ?

Il n'existe pas aujourd'hui de traitement pour guérir ce syndrome. Par contre, certains symptômes associés peuvent être traités.

 

Physiquement, à quoi va ressembler mon enfant ?

Votre enfant ne vous ressemblera pas, ni à vous, ni à ses frères et sœurs sauf dans les expressions, les attitudes, les postures. Son faciès montrera quelques éléments dysmorphiques mineurs tels un front bombé, un hypertélorisme (yeux écartés), la pointe du nez large, la lèvre supérieure fine, les oreilles implantées un peu bas. Il sera certainement d'ossature fine, de silhouette mince et donc de poids plume. Il se peut qu'il ne soit pas très grand par rapport aux tailles repérées chez les enfants aujourd'hui. Il a de grandes chances d'avoir les yeux bleus et les cheveux blonds.

Par contre, il ressemblera beaucoup aux autres enfants Koolen de Vries, certains donnent l'impression d'être jumeaux voire même clonés.

 

Kool kids à 3 ans

Combien de personnes touchées en France ? Dans le monde ?

Il n'y a pas de données exactes sur le nombre de personnes touchées en France ou dans le monde.

Les estimations sont d'une naissance sur 16 000.  

 

Quand a été découvert ce syndrome ?

Les symptômes sont répertoriés depuis plusieurs années par les généticiens mais les évolutions scientifiques n'ont permis l'établissement d'un diagnostic que depuis 2006. Pour plus de détails, voir la page Le syndrome rubrique Histoire du syndrome.

Quel avenir pour mon enfant ?

C'est l'une des premières questions posées mais elle reste assez vague. Vous trouverez des réponses concrètes dans les différents items en fonction des sujets : moteur, langage, autonomie... Toutefois, la grande majorité des enfants peut marcher, s'exprimer, acquérir une autonomie dans l'alimentation et dans certaines tâches ou activités quotidiennes comme l'habillage. Par contre, il est difficile d'envisager, à terme, une autonomie totale avec un logement propre et un emploi dans le milieu ordinaire.

 

Quelles difficultés va rencontrer mon enfant ?

Premièrement, nos enfants sont d'un caractère plutôt joyeux et sont en général en bonne santé. Deuxièmement, même si physiquement ils se ressemblent, ils n'ont pas forcément les mêmes symptômes. Il est donc difficile de décrire les difficultés que votre enfant va rencontrer. La chose certaine, c'est qu'il va falloir être en alerte sur des crises épileptiques probables et consulter plusieurs spécialistes (ophalmologue, ORL, orthoptiste, cardiologue...), vérifier certains organes (foie, reins). Ensuite, des prises en charge adaptées à votre enfant seront mises en place (kinésithérapie, orthophonie, psychomotricité, ergothérapie...), des traitements seront peut-être envisagés (épilepsie) et  pour quelques-uns, des opérations chirurgicales nécessaires (cœur, dos, langue...).

Au niveau social, il devrait s'épanouir comme tout enfant mais à son rythme et parfois dans un système scolaire adapté (IME, ULIS...).

Mon enfant aura-t-il une déficience intellectuelle ?

Oui, les personnes atteintes du syndrome ont des déficiences intellectuelles, là encore avec des variantes. Ils n'ont pas les mêmes facultés que les enfants dits valides dans les apprentissages. Mais ils sont intelligents, sensibles et ont, pour beaucoup, une mémoire très développée.

 

Mon enfant saura-t-il lire, écrire, compter ?

De nombreux enfants arrivent à lire et à comprendre ce qu'ils lisent. Beaucoup peuvent aussi écrire à l'aide des outils numériques, la tenue d'un crayon pouvant être difficile au vu du peu de dextérité manuelle. Les notions mathématiques sont par contre très  succinctes pour la grande majorité. L'apprentissage de la lecture de l'heure et/ou du comptage de monnaie est aussi compliqué pour beaucoup.

 

Premier jour en petite

section de maternelle

Quelle vie d'adulte pour mon enfant ? Sera-t-il autonome ? Pourra-t-il travailler ?

Cela prendra plus de temps que pour un enfant valide mais votre enfant acquerra de l'autonomie. Dans la grande majorité des cas, il marchera, s'habillera et mangera seul, pourra vous aider à vider le lave-vaisselle ou à ranger sa chambre. Adulte, il ne pourra sans doute pas être autonome dans ses déplacements, avoir son logement propre ou travailler en milieu ordinaire. Même si quelques personnes en sont capables, c'est à la marge. La majorité des personnes atteintes par le syndrome Koolen De Vries n'ont aucune notion du danger, du temps ce qui ne permet pas de vivre de façon autonome.

Nous avons, là encore, peu de recul mais la grande majorité des adultes reconnus Koolen De Vries et connus de nous en France sont de jeunes adultes. La majorité vit encore chez ses parents et est demi-pensionnaire dans un établissement spécialisé (IMPRO, Foyer de vie ou ESAT). Certains se préparent à vivre dans un de ces établissements et y font des stages d'intégration.

 

Comment en parler aux frères et sœurs ?

Tout simplement. En expliquant les difficultés que rencontre l'enfant atteint du syndrome avec du vocabulaire adapté aux âges de la fratrie. En indiquant que oui, papa et maman doivent prendre un peu plus de temps pour s'occuper de lui mais qu'ils sont toujours là pour tous. En laissant faire les choses, en ne surprotégeant pas les uns ou les autres.

Le caractère des enfants Koolen De Vries fera le reste. Ils sont en grande majorité très gentils et affectueux, coopérants, d'humeur joyeuse ; ils adorent rire des bêtises des autres et faire des blagues eux-mêmes.

 

Mon enfant pourra-t-il être parent ?

A ce jour, nous n'avons connaissance que d'une jeune femme atteinte du syndrome et devenue mère à son tour, en Angleterre.

A rappeler, comme pour tout syndrome : le risque d'avoir un enfant lui-même atteint du syndrome est de 50% en cas d'un seul parent atteint.

 

Quels risques d'avoir un autre enfant lui aussi touché par le syndrome ?

A notre connaissance, il existe deux familles avec deux enfants sur deux atteints du syndrome, toutes les 2 à l'étranger. Dans ces deux cas, au moins un des parents est lui-même porteur de la délétion. A notre connaissance, si les parents ne sont pas porteurs de l'anomalie (mutation accidentelle appelée de novo sur leur enfant atteint) , alors le risque est très faible d'avoir un autre enfant Koolen De Vries.

 

Quelles aides financières pouvez-vous obtenir ?

  • Le 100% Sécurité sociale permet d'avoir tous les soins liés au syndrome (et pris en charge normalement partiellement par la Sécurité Sociale), remboursés en totalité.

  • Une demande de reconnaissance du handicap, d'allocations éducation, de carte de priorité et de stationnement peuvent être effectuées auprès de la Maison Départementale des Personnes Handicapées (M.D.P.H.).

  • Certains employeurs proposent aussi des aides financières, d'aménagement du temps de travail, des jours de disponibilité pris en charge pour enfant en situation de handicap...

  • Certaines mutuelles peuvent aussi vous accorder des aides.

 

© 2018 - Association Koolen De Vries France - Tous droits réservés              contact@koolendevriesfrance.org             Politique de confidentialité

  • Facebook Social Icône
Logo association Koolen De Vries France