MY CHILD HAS KOOLEN DE VRIES SYNDROME

Today a diagnosis has been made but your child is the same as yesterday and deserves the parents that you are.

You did not arrive on this site by chance ...

Do you feel bad, isolated?

Don't you really understand what's happening to you? Or, maybe, are you relieved?

Are you wondering how you are going to be able to face the next few days, the next months and even the next years?

Your doctor did not have the tact you expected when he told you that your child has Koolen de Vries syndrome, you may feel that he did not take the time to give you enough information, to respond to your first  Questions. He may not have known or been able to direct you towards other confreres, other families, our association.

Whatever the age of your child, the doubts you may already have, the announcement of a disability in his child is always difficult to hear. It is an ordeal during which you will go through different stages, which will take more or less time (sometimes years), depending on each person, their history, their education, their culture or their beliefs. One thing is however certain, you will walk. Often alone, at your own pace, and not necessarily in tune with your spouse, your other children, your parents or siblings, but you will walk. The other parents who have gone through this ordeal before you are neither supermen nor heroes. Like them, you will overcome, you will learn.

The first of the stages, in which you are certainly in reading these lines, is a state of bewilderment: you have the impression of being sucked in by emptiness, of being in the blur or in the dark.  total. Or are you in a state of disbelief? It is quite simply  your psyche which refuses to integrate such a shock and which, by this fact, gives you time to get used to the announcement.

  

Then will undoubtedly come the time of the denial of reality: you will try to find all the points which could indicate for your child an error of diagnosis (such or such progress, such or such morphological difference), a possible cure.

Then you risk going into a state of anger. Anger against others: a loved one (often the spouse), a professional body, an institution. Because you haven't seen, because others haven't alerted you.

Turned against you, this anger can lead you to a state of depression. In this case, it will be necessary to dare to ask for psychological or psychotherapeutic assistance.

Later, you will cry, maybe a lot, you will enter a phase of mourning, of sadness.

 

Then, you will come to understand that, while your life will change for sure, it will be worth living this way because you will be overtaken by the happiness, the joy and the pride that your child gives you.

Today, despite the shock of the announcement, if you could just keep in a small corner of your head that:

- You are not responsible for this situation

- Your role as a parent remains the same: to love, care for, educate, support towards autonomy (without overprotection and by accepting experiences) so that one day, your child who has become an adult is fulfilled and has confidence in him or her in the life that will be his

- The dreamed, imagined child does not exist, it is built day after day, with you but also in society

- Like all parents, you will continue to evolve, often thanks to your children, whether they are Kool or not

 

So I promise, past the shock of the announcement and the trials that will follow, there will be room for great and small happiness.

Remember, you are part of the Kool Kids family and they live up to their name very well.

When and through what seems best to you, do not hesitate to contact us, we have gone through what you are going through, we can undoubtedly accompany you, share and answer your first questions with ease. and without judgment.

Education

2015-2017

University Name

This is your Education description. Concisely describe your degree and any other highlights of your studies. Make sure to include relevant skills, accomplishments, and milestones gained. Don't forget to adjust the timeframe in the subtitle.

2011-2014

University Name

This is your Education description. Concisely describe your degree and any other highlights of your studies. Make sure to include relevant skills, accomplishments, and milestones gained. Don't forget to adjust the timeframe in the subtitle.

2007-2010

University Name

This is your Education description. Concisely describe your degree and any other highlights of your studies. Make sure to include relevant skills, accomplishments, and milestones gained. Don't forget to adjust the timeframe in the subtitle.

Call 

123-456-7890 

E-mail 

Follow

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

MON ENFANT A LE SYNDROME KOOLEN DE VRIES

Aujourd'hui un diagnostic a été posé mais votre enfant, lui, est le même qu'hier et mérite les parents que vous êtes.

Vous n'êtes pas arrivé(es) sur ce site par hasard

Vous vous sentez mal, isolé(s) ? Vous ne comprenez pas vraiment ce qu'il vous arrive ? Ou, peut-être, êtes vous soulagé ?

Vous vous demandez comment vous allez pouvoir affronter les prochains jours, les prochains mois et même les prochaines années ?

Votre médecin n'a pas eu le tact que vous attendiez lorsqu'il vous a annoncé que votre enfant était atteint du syndrome Koolen de Vries, vous avez peut-être l'impression qu'il n'a pas pris le temps de vous donner assez d'informations, de répondre à vos premières questions. Il n'a peut-être pas su ou pu vous orienter vers d'autres confrères, d'autres familles, notre association.

Quel que soit l'âge de votre enfant, les doutes que vous aviez peut-être déjà, l'annonce d'un handicap chez son enfant est toujours difficile à entendre. C'est une épreuve durant laquelle vous allez passer par différentes étapes, qui prendront plus ou moins de temps (parfois des années), en fonction de chacun, de son histoire, de son éducation, de sa culture ou de ses croyances. Une chose est pourtant sûre, vous cheminerez. Souvent seul, à votre propre rythme, et pas forcément en phase avec votre conjoint, vos autres enfants, vos parents ou frères et sœurs mais vous cheminerez. Les autres parents passés par cette épreuve avant vous ne sont ni des surhommes ni des héros. Comme eux, vous surmonterez, vous apprendrez.

La première des étapes, dans laquelle vous êtes certainement en lisant ces lignes, est un état de sidération : vous avez l'impression d'être happé par le vide, d'être dans le flou ou le noir  total. Ou alors, êtes-vous dans un état d'incrédulité ? C'est tout simplement  votre psychisme qui refuse d'intégrer un tel choc et qui, par ce fait, vous laisse le temps de vous habituer à l'annonce.

  

Ensuite viendra sans doute le temps du déni de réalité : vous essaierez de trouver tous les points pouvant indiquer pour votre enfant une erreur de diagnostic (tel ou tel progrès, telle ou telle différence morphologique), une guérison possible.

Puis, vous risquez d'entrer dans un état de colère. Colère contre les autres : un proche (souvent le conjoint), un corps de métier, une institution. Parce que vous n'avez pas vu, parce que d'autres ne vous ont pas alerté.

Tournée contre vous-même, cette colère pourra vous mener jusqu'à un état de dépression. Dans ce cas, il faudra oser demander une assistance psychologique ou psychothérapeutique.

Plus tard, vous pleurerez, peut-être beaucoup, vous rentrerez dans une phase de deuil, de tristesse.

 

Puis, vous finirez par comprendre que, si votre vie va certes changer, elle vaudra la peine d'être vécue ainsi car vous serez rattrapé par le bonheur, la joie et la fierté que vous procure votre enfant.

Aujourd'hui etmalgré le choc de l'annonce, si vous pouviez juste garder dans un petit coin de votre tête que :

- Vous n'êtes aucunement responsable de cette situation

- Votre rôle de parent reste le même : aimer, soigner, éduquer, accompagner vers l'autonomie (sans surprotection et en acceptant les expériences) pour qu'un jour, votre enfant devenu adulte soit épanoui et ait confiance en lui dans la vie qui sera la sienne

- L'enfant rêvé, imaginé, n'existe pas, il se construit jour après jour, auprès de vous mais aussi dans la société

- Comme tous les parents, vous continuerez d'évoluer, souvent grâce à vos enfants, qu'ils soient Kool ou non

 

Alors promis, passé le choc de l'annonce et les épreuves qui vont suivre, il y aura de la place pour de petits et grands bonheurs.

N'oubliez pas, vous entrez dans la famille des Kool Kids et ils portent très bien leur nom.

Au moment et par le biais qui vous sembleront les mieux pour vous, n'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous, nous sommes passés par ce que vous vivez, nous pouvons sans doute vous accompagner, partager et répondre à vos premières questions en toute simplicité et sans jugement.